Ozdat Home Feature Cars Ozdat Classifieds Event Calander Links Trade Link Tech Resource Merchandise Donate Web Mail
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 4:17 pm

All times are UTC+11:00

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 8:02 pm 

Hey! Hopefully my car isn't too new to post in here. It does have Datsun badges on it, so I guess you'll have to put up with it.

I just sold my N12 Pulsar EXA coupe and I've bought this as I thought it would be nice to have a more comfortable car to get around in (and it was blowing smoke, which might have been too expensive to repair, I've been driving a loaner VS Statesman since May). I've had the car for one week now and it has been going well! It does consume about twice as much petrol as the EXA, but I did kinda expect that.

My background is completely devoid of mechanical knowledge. I will fix things here and there, but anything major and the car will be at the mechanics for repairs.

On to the car! It was advertised on carsales by an elderly gentleman who was the second owner since 1994 (with 125,000 on the clock). Prior to him it was owned by his uncle from 1982. The car was originally purchased from Deniboota Distributors which is apparently in or around Deniliquin. The car now has 144,500 on it, which means it has travelled only 20,000km in the last twenty years.

These are pictures I took last weekend when I got the car home.

[ img ]

Broken indicator needs to be replaced.

[ img ]

Repaired tail light needs to be replaced. Bit of rust in the boot goes all the way through.

[ img ]

I used a bit of hair spray as a temporary fix for the trim. It looks OK for now (no after pic).

[ img ]

A couple of matchbooks, a spare globe, and a curled up 34 cent stamp.

[ img ]

Both speaker covers have wasted away to nothing. It's kinda surprising that they have disappeared, yet the dash is in relatively good condition.