Ozdat Home Feature Cars Ozdat Classifieds Event Calander Links Trade Link Tech Resource Merchandise Donate Web Mail
It is currently Tue Apr 30, 2024 4:05 am

All times are UTC+11:00

Post subject: Rover V8 into 1600
PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2005 10:54 pm 

After seeing a view pics and reviews of 1600's with the Rover all alloy 4.2lt V8. I have put this conversion up for serious consideration.

How Much for one of these Rover V8's ??

What Rover are they from ?

Anyone have a idea on weight ?

One owner of such a car said it weighed less than the standard L-series ! Is this possible ??

What sort of power in standard NA form do these motors make ?

Any info on this topic would be great.

Thanks

Dave

1977 P610/180B Wagon Daily Driver

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 12:46 am 
Donating Member
Donating Member

I'm no expert, but have driven an MGB powered by a Rover V8 (only the 3.5 version). It certainly went extremely well, and handled well also. From memory, it had a Supra 5 speed that was fitted with a bellhousing that enabled it to bolt up to the rover motor.

One lasting memory is of it in a motorkhana (driven by the owner) dissappearing in a cloud of tyre smoke that it generated.

Colin Bond also campaigned a Triumph TR7 powered by one of these in rallies in the early 80's. Used to be extremely good value to watch.

The Rover V8's were available in a range of capacities from 3.5 up to 4.2, and were fitted to a fair range of Rover cars, along with a few other makes who used them. They were originally based on a Buick engine, I believe.

You could even go the 4.4 out of a Leyland P76, which was based on the same engine.

The "same weight as an L4" is based on the fact that they are an all-alloy motor (ie alloy block).

1965 SP310 Fairlady
1966 SP311 Fairlady

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 12:57 am 

I have seen some Buick V8s with automatics
The Buick was the same weight maybe slightly less.